Backstreet’s Back. Or Molly is, maybe. For now. :)

Despite constant encouragement from friends and the kind and generous folks of the interwebs, I have not been able to bring myself to post anything as of late. For a few reasons. Writer’s block, for one. Is that even a legitimate thing? I like to think of it as something more appropriately named:  stress block. Or, it’s counterpart, sensory and information overload. There are so many things that I’d like to write about that everything just kind of gets overloaded up there, like trying to force a huge amount of sand through a funnel. Everything stops, I shut down, and then I’ve just got this blank screen I have to get up and walk away from.

Another reason is one I have been hesitant to even mention. Kind of like Beetlejuice, mention it and it appears. I refuse to draw the chalk doorway to let my own personal Beetlejuice through, but let’s just say, for theory’s sake, that Beetlejuice is real. And, oh, look, I’ve said it three times now, so I’m sure this person will show their face now. But I’ve done the thing that I swore not to do. I let a commenter keep me away.

I’m back, though. Whether I have history with said commenter or not, I shouldn’t let one single person ruin what I’ve got going on here. Whatever this is. This place was supposed to be for deep thoughts and shallow thoughts and bartender stories and mommy stories, and I wanted so badly to write about the field trip I just chaperoned where this little kid shouted the most obscene thing at the top of his lungs that I burst out laughing in the most inappropriate way. I couldn’t though, because every single time that I tried to write something, it was too personal for me to share with this person lurking in the shadows of the information superhighway. And there are a million places to hide online. And even if you block someone they can still make another profile, another email address, another identity, if you will. And you know what? Fine. I can’t control that. I can’t.

What I can control is me, and what everyone else chooses to perceive that as is up to them. I only hope that to the rest of you, who haven’t irked me to the point of wanting to delete this entire blog altogether, that you can appreciate the good, the bad, the numb, the intense. And you have up until now. And that’s why I’m back. For all eight of you who read this 😉 So, thanks, for making me want to come back. And a special shout out to my new friend Jack who encouraged me to keep writing. You should all go check out his blog, he’s pretty cool. http://jackflacco.com/

Oh, and I’m sorry about the video. I just had to.

8 thoughts on “Backstreet’s Back. Or Molly is, maybe. For now. :)

  1. I am glad you are writing again Molly. Don’t let her get to you. I know this is easier said than done, but if you give her that power you will never be free. Enough said about that.
    Welcome back and keep writing.
    Love, hugs, and kisses
    Aunt Petra

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry you’ve struggled with with someone bringing you down, but I’m happy you’ve decided to not let it silence you. I have a blogger friend who has written “what other people think of me is none of my business”… I like that and think of it often when I feel the weight of someone’s judgement. Here’s to continuing to make your voice heard 🙂

    Like

  3. Aww, thanks so much for the shout out, Molly. You’re awesome!

    Listen, in terms of writing–I’m not a very good advice-giver-upper. 🙂 All I know is what works for me! And what works for me is to write every day regardless of how I feel. Sometimes, I feel like I want to hide in a corner somewhere where no one can find me. But you know what? Some of my best writing comes from those days. I can’t tell you how meaningful the words are when I write them, ’cause anyone can write when they’re having a good day. It’s when the car won’t start, the rain won’t stop, and people won’t leave you alone–that’s the true challenge of a writer. Dealing with those things and more.

    I guess what I’m saying is, when I’m writing every day, I’m not really thinking about writer’s block. I’m thinking about the words I’m putting on the paper. What do I write about? Anything and everything! Do a brain dump on paper and you’ll find material there that can last a lifetime!

    Anyway, I typically don’t write about writing ’cause I’m too busy writing!

    Keep at it and one day it’ll all make sense. It has for me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

